An Ode to Real

As a girl, I know that girls can be mean. I mean, Mean. Boys might be rough and tough. But girls are sneaky and conniving. Until moving back to Texas this past summer, I would have to say that almost all my close friends have always been boys. Now, though, I have added some ladies into that. πŸ™‚

My point? Well, I remember when I was first getting into ultras. I had lost quiet a bit of weight. For the first time in my life I felt attractive instead of fat..thrilling. But my girl “friends” would regularly make commits like, “You look sooo good in those shorts! Your legs have really turned amazing. But if I ran like you, my husband would be disappointed. He likes my boobs, and your boobs are so small….” And, “Man, it’s a good thing you like running and I don’t! My chest would sag, or shrink like yours (hahaha).” I must say. It hurt. It hurt a lot. And I’m sure these girls knew that. Funny part is, every guy I’ve ever tossed out the idea of implants to has a very strong response. NO. No. NOOOOO. Why, I ask. And it has been met with a lot of whys. Biggest is it looks insecure and insecure isn’t attractive.Β  It seems that what most guys want is a confident women when it comes to her body. Not size, security. Still, my friends did a great job of helping me feel insecure with my 32 B boobs. Society helps too. As a top notch athlete, with a very low body fat percentage, I am shocked at how “fat” I am compared to some (um, most) pictures of busty chicks in magazines. I mean, really? I run a guzilion miles a year, cross-train and eat well. I’d have to either starve myself or follow a VERY strict diet to loose any more fat…and honestly, I am happy with my current weight. I feel strong. I run well. And I like my wine. πŸ˜‰ I also have my own reasons for liking my natural body. I’m bothered by the “make yourself better with fake” whatever idea. Actually, I’m sick of it! I want to let it all go. I am me. I am happy to be me, with my small chest, little bit of plump in the middle and sexy athlete thighs. I am me and I am real. Not super curvy. Not fake. Not starved. ALL me.

So. A horatian style ode to being You. Seize the day because it’s yours!

/

It hurts when people don’t like you

when you feel less then enough

It’s easy to wish yourself more

More friends, more boobs or more buff

/

But that is not the wisest choice

Don’t sell who you are so fast

Being yourself is so much more

The fake thrill will never last

/

Enjoy being how you are now

Embrace that and you will grow

Own your flaws and be yourself

True beauty is You, do Know.

/

What really matters is never size

what matters comes from inside

for who you are is the true prize

those who tell you less have lied

/

Be yourself and don’t take to heart

what others may choose to do

Their life is theirs, live your life smart

Being true to who is you

3 comments

  1. I love this, Melanie! Great job, so beautiful, good and true! My two teenage daughters are beginning to realize that they have very different body types–different from each other and different from me. I am trying to teach them that they are beautiful in their spectacular uniqueness and that God loves to create many, many different kinds of Beautiful. I will read this to them–thank you so much for sharing and also for being one of the nicest girls I have never known–I have never known you to be a “mean girl” and I have always felt appreciated, encouraged and accepted by you. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Amanda! πŸ™‚ I feel the same for you, plus!! You are an amazing lady. Your young ladies are blessed to have you as Mom.

  2. Thank you! I love this post so much. I was just thinking this the other day. As a personal trainer, many of my friends have asked me for advice on losing weight but then tell me they don’t want to lose their boobs. Truth be told, I would much rather be in shape with no boobs than fat with big boobs!!


Leave a Reply

